The Weekend Review

The first thing you’re told when starting a blog is that you should decide what your blog is about in advance, then stick to it. This blog is about Manchester. It’s primarily here so we can share information on what’s happening and what deals are available, yet, as it’s ‘a blog’ I’m supposed to write other stuff regularly too.

If I was constantly doing stuff (which I’d like to) I’d always have something to write about (which I don’t). I’m conscious that random posts are just spam. The Jazz and 24:7 Theatre festivals were going on around me, yet this weekend I chose to do nothing. Nothing exciting happened. Nothing to write about. Today’s post is technically spam.

Instead of writing a review or sharing an opinion today I’m just going to ask a question:

What did you do this weekend?

Here’s what I did and didn’t do:

  1. Didn’t carry a snake. Did attempt to but wasn’t allowed. Made do with stroking a yellow Burmese Python.
  2. Didn’t go to Heaton Park music festival. Didn’t eat 20 flavours of Ben and Jerry’s.
  3. Did read the God of Small Things – followed by a short story about maniac homicidal hedgehogs.
  4. Did listen to free Jazz, albeit from outside the festival tent, plus I’m pretty sure it was actually Salsa.
  5. Did declare my intention to do 101 challenges in 1001 days.
  6. Didn’t do the TV 21 burger food challenge.
  7. Did try the new Northern Quarter tea shop: Home Sweet Home. Mmmm, delicious.
  8. Didn’t watch the end of The Human Centipede. Discovered the sky box had auto-deleted it to make room for the F1.
  9. Didn’t watch the F1 qualifing. Didn’t watch the F1. What a waste of space that was.
  10. Did watch the summer sunset from Winter Hill. 
  11. Didn’t make kiwi bread.
  12. Didn’t watch lesbian vampire queen burlesque at the Lowry theatre.
  13. Was shocked to hear Amy whinehouse had died.
  14. Wasn’t shocked for longer then 2 seconds. (Poor girl)
  15. Did watch Schindler’s List.
  16. Did get woken up by 124 voice mail messages coming through on the mobile phone – one every 5 minutes beginning at midnight.
  17. Didn’t send off for driving licence. Did empty the dishwasher.
  18. Did water the tomato plants that are sprawling across the living room floor like triffids.
  19. Did have an impromptu picnic of sushi and blueberries.
  20. Did wonder what on earth I was going to write about for today’s post.

So that’s what I did and didn’t do this weekend. How about you?

What did you do this weekend?

All comments are welcome 🙂

24 thoughts on “The Weekend Review

    • I’ve listed 80 challenges now and I’m just tweaking them a little before I publish them. Watch this space! 😉

      I’ve read your challenge list a few times for inspiration (and Tilly’s, Sarsm’s and Corkscrewboo-hoo’s). I have a couple of decorating tasks too. Just writing the list has inspired me to do things that have been hanging over me for years. (I now have paint!) I need to publish it sooner rather than later, or risk having to come up with new challenges. lol.

      Which challenge are you working on next? Your list looks particularly hard. You’re a brave woman!

      • I’m not sure what I’ll tackle this month. I’m going to have my kids full time with me for the last weeks of August and I have a number of writing projects to work on, so I don’t know how much time will be left. I think I’m going to focus on tasks that can be accomplished by breaking them down in smaller pieces.

        I’m looking forward to seeing your complete list. I took me a few weeks to get mine done and officially published but it was great to see it live somewhere, accountable and all…

        • Many of your challenges are epic. I think breaking them down into smaller chunks is a good plan – Plus it’s fun to cross things out with coloured markers! (That always makes me feel I’ve achieved something anyway). lol

          Have you seen Dave’s blog? He’s also a writer. (He publishes some of his short stories along with tutorials on his blog). Dave is going to start 101/1001 too. I’d like to take credit for talking him into it (that’s one of my challenges) but he talked himself into it. Dave’s website is: http://manchestersartisticson.com/

          • Epic, huh? Like, write a book? I believe everything on my list is feasible, but yes, some of the tasks are intense. But so is life, right? And I like a good challenge, it keeps me on my toes. 😉

            Thanks for letting me know about Dave’s blog. I’ll go check it out.

Leave a Reply

