Five Down, Ninety-Six To Go

101 in 1001 LogoI am now on day 26 of the 101 / 1001 challenge. Since my last update I have completed 4 challenges. Yippee!

The first challenge I completed, right at the start of the project, was Number 79: Persuade someone to join the Day Zero Challenge. That one is well and truly DONE. Since my last update I have talked a third person into signing up, who has in turn persuaded three other people to join in, plus Louise published her list yesterday.

I think I have nine willing volunteers in my pyramid scheme now. Cha-ching! (Or at least itwould be if I start rewarding myself cash for each new person who joins).

Before I go into which four I have completed, let us first look at the works in progress:

BooksIN PROGRESS

Number 26: I have read 10.1 cm of books – that’s about 6% of my height. My new phone has a little inbuilt-ruler-gadget-thingy which is proving very useful for this challenge.

(I went camping at the weekend – in the rain and cold. We could have left at any point but I had borrowed a book from another camper so I refused to leave until I had finished reading it. It gave me a further 2.2 cm).

I’ve also spent a small fortune on second hand books recently. If I just read books on my Kindle I would never complete the challenge. How many Kindles would I need to stack up to reach my height? Have you seen how thin they are?

Bear Grylls eating ZebraNumber 50: The challenge to eat 10 new unusual foods might not be as difficult as I first thought. I have discovered some crazy online shops that sell unusual meats, such as zebra, camel, python, rattle-snake and crocodile. Plus the Manchester Arndale market doesn’t do too badly either. From there I can buy pigeon, pig trotters, cow stomach, razor clams and shark, occasionally. I haven’t actually started this challenge. But I will. One day.

Number 56: I have attempted to curl my hair twice since starting the challenge. The second time I was even able to show my face in public. Alright, so I still looked messy and I was only visiting family but I am getting there. I just hope that incidents don’t go hand in hand with improvement. The first time I curled my own hair I looked dreadful. I brushed it out immediately but at least I didn’t burn myself. The second time it looked ok-ish, but in the process I burned my ear repeatedly and accidently grabbed the curling-wand with my un-heatproof-gloved hand. Ouch.

In brief, I have also:

  • Bookcrossed 5 out of 20 books (Number 29)
  • Sent off for my photocard driving licence again. (Number 81) My challenge was simply to fill in the form and send it off, which I have done twice now. I’m unwilling to tick this one off until I receive everything back safe and sound.
  • I have written my diary in 6 words for 36 out of 101 days so far (Number 86)
  • And Melanie has offered to write a guest blog piece for me (Number 88). I look forward to receiving that in my inbox at some point over the next 2.7 years.

MR PIGEON

Number 55: I became pretty obsessive about the Rubix Cube on my phone for about 3 days last week. After watching 4 or 5 hours of tutorials on Youtube and having written 10 pages of notes I managed to solve my first Rubix Cube. Hurray! When I went to tick it off my list however I realised my challenge was to ‘learn how to solve’, not just solve using instructions. Doh! So that one is still a work in progress.

I received an email yesterday from the Ebay seller who is sending me an actual Rubix Cube to work with. I ordered it weeks ago but it still hasn’t arrived. The email said:

“Mr. Pigeon informed us that he has completed 75% of its journey and preparing to land in a few days time. We are really concern that your item arrives on time and in good condition. Kindly keep we informed once you have received the item. If you have received your items please ignore this email, our pigeon must be have worked all the way out to get your products delivered.”

Homing PigeonHow sweet! A pigeon is carrying it all the way from China! At least that explains why it’s taken nearly a month. They should have used Owls. Harry Potter’s mail never took this long.

Soooo, now to the four challenges I have completed:

MAKE OVER – TICK!

Number 18: I won a makeover and photo shoot several months ago from one of the numerous makeover-photography places in Manchester. (There are dozens, seriously). When I won I thought I would wait a few months, take on a strict fitness routine, loose weight, look great, you know – that sort of thing. It didn’t happen. I love food too much so dieting was never going to happen. I could have exercised more but something always got in the way: Laziness, mainly. Plus a touch of procrastination.

If I was going to accept the prize I had to take it by the end of August. I just about squeezed it in by taking last Friday off work. When I booked the photo shoot I didn’t know it was going to coincide with We Love MCR Day. When I found out I thought ‘Great! I have the whole day off to enjoy it’.

Of course it didn’t quiet work out: Photo shoots always take longer than you expect, so I didn’t get to Exchange Square for 5 pm to tie a love-note to a balloon to release en mass at 5.30 pm. (Sulk!) I was looking forward to Number 77 but I’ll just have to buy a balloon another time.

World Book Night 2012WORLD BOOK NIGHT – TICK!

Number 30: The deadline for April 2012s World Book Night is upon us so I spent a lot of time last month deliberating on which 10 books to nominate.

For those of you who haven’t heard of World Book Night, it is Bookcrossing but on a huge scale.

World Book Night 2011For those of you who don’t know what Bookcrossing is, it means to leave a book in a public place for someone else to find, read, then leave in a public place for the next person to find. Feel free to look at my bookshelf here.

To Bookcross you register each book individually on the website then write the number and a brief message inside the book. Whoever finds it and reads the message can type the unique registration number into the bookcrossing website and leave a ‘Journal Entry.’ In theory you can follow your books journey around the world though the messages people leave. I think I’ve only ever received 4 messages but I live in hope.

So back to my challenge: World Book Night asked people to nominate 10 books to be Bookcrossed next April. Last year they gave away 40,000 books around the UK all in one night. In addition to nominating 10 books I have registered my interest to be one of the bookcrossers on the night. Fingers crossed that they pick me.

BE NOMINATED AS A TORCH BEARER – TICK!

CongratulationsNumber 91: (Yes, this is a new one). Those of you who live in the UK will have seen countless advertisements asking you to nominate a torch bearer for the London Olympics in 2012.

You were asked to nominate someone who does a lot of charity work or is active in the community. I secretly wanted to be nominated but I didn’t tell anyone. I do a lot of fundraising and volunteering so why not? I’m probably too old, ok I’ll admit that. 80% of torch bearers will be under 24 so it’s unlikely that I’ll actually get to the carry the torch, but I’m delighted to have been nominated. Thank you. 🙂

HappyBEING HAPPY – TICK!

Number 90: My fourth and final task this week was to list 101 things that make me happy. It’s quite personal so I’m not going to share my list, but I have written it. Honest.

It’s wonderful being so easily pleased!

 

How are you all getting on with your lists?

All comments are welcome. 🙂

17 thoughts on “Five Down, Ninety-Six To Go

  1. Wow! You’re doing brilliantly!!

    Are you going to show us your photos?

    Congratulations on the nomination! Fantastic!

    I totally love the bookcrossing idea.

    I looked on Louise’s page but I didn’t see her list. So far there are 18 of us on my list. It’s exploding!! If there are others I inadvertently missed, could you let me know? I really appreciate it. 🙂

    • I haven’t bought any of the photos yet so there’s nothing to upload. They’re ridiculously expensive. I’m not sure whether I will buy any or not. I think I get one thrown in free with the prize but they expect me to pay full price for the rest – as though I didn’t win a competition at all. They should deduct the cost of the shoot but they don’t.

      Louise isn’t sure whether she’s going to publish her list on her blog or not. Her blog is about books and she wants to keep it on topic. You can see her list on the Day Zero site here: http://dayzeroproject.com/user/lubylou/todo I’m trying to persuade Lou to start a new blog just for 101 so we can leave her messages of encouragement. I don’t think you can do that on the Day Zero website.

    • Thanks, 🙂 I thought it best to get stuck in whilst I can because I’m bound to loose steam sooner or later.

      I’m ticking off the easy ones but some are going to be much harder. There will probably be some months when I don’t do anything at all.

    • 🙂 Did I tell you the pigeon arrived with the Rubix Cube? I broke it almost instantly. It still works – I just need to pop the orange cube back in every now and then.

    • 🙂 My motivation and momentum won’t last. I figured if I can get a load done all in one go I can take a month or so off. I’m impressed at how many you’ve done off your list. How long have you been working at it? About 18 months?

  2. Pingback: 101/1001 (23) « The Laughing Housewife

  3. Thank you for the gentle reminder 🙂 I’m a bit of a sucker for accepting offers of guest posts (or nominating myself, it seems) and am currently trying to get my head round writing one for a friend who has set me a subject to write about … I won’t let you down though 🙂

    Well done on all of those others!

    The Bowling Green, a pub down by Manchester Uni does lots of different kinds of meats, I once had a Kangaroo burger there, (Blegh, I’m veggie now!) I believe they also do things like Ostrich and Croc etc. I haven’t been there for years though.

    I was out in NQ the other night and found myself in a bar that I didn’t know existed; and it made me think that I need to put together a list of coffee shops and bars for us! Your comment on that didn’t go unnoticed!

    Oh, speaking of being out in the NQ – I was actually on a date, started in Lamars, and decided to walk up to The Market Kitchen for some food, and ended up the middle of a street rave on Thomas St! So, we danced to Market Kitchen instead of walking there 🙂 Oh how I love Manchester! Apparently Mr Scruff was doing a secret set there yesterday? Someone told us that Sat night, don’t know if it happened? Do you?

    Sorry for super long comment 🙂

    • Hi Melanie, There’s no hurry for the guest piece. We’ve got 2 and 1/2 years. You’re free to change your mind too – I’m not going to force you into it! 🙂 What subject does your friend want you to write about? I won’t give you a specific subject to work with. As long as it’s vaguely connected to Manchester I’m happy. The rest is up to you.

      I haven’t heard of The Bowling Green before. I’ll have to check it out. I think The Mark Addy might have some unusual things on their menu. Food festivals are usually good for it too. We found a restaurant selling pan fried sheep brains over the weekend. It sounds disgusting but I‘m told it tastes quite good. Being a vegi that’s not really what you want to hear is it?

      I can’t remember whether I wrote it anywhere on the blog before but I used to be vegi. My friends mum cooked a whole goat, including the scull and brains once. It smelt disgusting. Despite being vegi I ate a goat butty just to prove I wasn’t chicken! Blurgh! Not fun times!

      It was the ‘Northern Quarter Loves You’ festival on Saturday and Sunday. I was there too. I was tempted to eat in Market Kitchen but decided to eat from one the BBQs instead. Walking around I noticed places I hadn’t seen before either. I want to try out Sugar Junction. Have you been there? I think its where Rags to B*tches used to be. I’m going to take my mum for afternoon tea.

      I don’t know whether Mr Scruff performed there or not. I think he probably did but I missed it. There were 3 stages and 30 acts over the weekend. I spent most of my time at the Tib Street stage. The acoustics there were fantastic.

      P.S. I like super long comments 🙂

      • I will definitely write you a blog. I’ve actually just finished the other guest one I was doing, so i’m sure it’ll be posted soon enough, i’ll post a link to it on mine when it’s up. Just all about lesbo stuff 😉

        We were (almost) in the same restaurant then. You’d have seen me swooning over the wine and the bad food. Wine makes me swoon, nowt to do with the date, of course 😉 🙂

  4. Wow your doing much better than me, I need to start working out my book height as well.

    I had no idea you could buy wood pigeon so definitely going to try and do that as one of my challenges.

    • I love the idea of my food challenges but I haven’t started any of the cooking ones yet. I’ve been told cooking wood pigeon can be tricky so I plan to cook it for a forgiving audience. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Charles Darwin and the Mongolian Grill | Manchester Meanders

Leave a Reply

