A Day in Books

I began the day with Serial.

On my way to work I saw Annabel and walked by The Wasp Factory to avoid Demon Girl but I made sure to stop at The Secret Garden.

In the office, my boss said, We Need to Talk About Kevin and sent me to research The Haunting of Hill House.

At lunch with Madame Bovary I noticed A Friend Like Henry under Salem’s Lot then went back to my desk Forever Odd.

Later, on the journey home, I bought Blood, Sweat and Tea because I have Clones then settling down for the evening, I picked up The Diary of a Nobody and studied Tooth and Nail before saying goodnight to The Peppermint Pig.

Thank you to Lou from I Hug My Books for posting this meme on her blog after spotting it on Cornflower Books.

The idea is to complete the story using the titles of books you’ve read this year.

Unfortunately I can only remember as far back as Halloween and most of the titles I read at that time were creepy / weird / ghoulish – Not particularly appropriate three days before Christmas.

New Year resolution: Record the titles of books I’m reading 

I think I’ve just about managed to rein it in. Not too creepy? It was difficult not to duplicate what Lou wrote seeing as I’m in Lou’s book club and we’ve read several of the same books this year.

Please try the meme for yourself. If you don’t have your own blog feel free to publish your ‘Day in Books’ in the comments here.

All comments are welcome 🙂

6 thoughts on “A Day in Books

  1. I had so much fun reading this!! Brilliant use of titles, I like the way you used Serial at the beginning. It’s good fun isn’t it? I always find it helpful to write my books down, I’ve always done it and put a little score out of ten down too. Sounds silly but it’s helpful when people ask what you thought of a certian book.

    • Lol, thanks. I wasn’t sure I’d get away with using Serial like that. 🙂

      I nearly ‘began the day with Blood Sweat and Tea’ and ‘bought The Other Hand because I have Clones’. So many options!

      I have started writing books down now. If we have a similar meme in the New Year I might be more prepared.

  2. Will be telling my Book Club about this next week and trying to get them all to have a go. When I’ve had a think I’ll post my “Day in Books.”

    • I look forward to reading it. 🙂 Let me know how your Book Club friends get on too.

      I’ve started making a note of the books I’m reading – I’ve read 10 books since Christmas! I wouldn’t have realised if I hadn’t written their titles down. Admittedly some of them where short and sweet (only 200 pages or so) but I was still astonished when I counted them up.

      What is your Book Club reading at the moment?

Leave a Reply

